Eat – Starbelly

Starbelly in Calgary

Tis’ the season for Holiday parties. As such my department at work went to Starbelly in Calgary for a late lunch. IMG_20161130_160129.jpg
The inside was much larger than I expected. It’s a very rustic interior with reclaimed wood siding, chairs hanging on the walls, wooden spoon artwork and lovely plaid napkins. Some people love this style and while I enjoy it I’m not overly crazy about it. I did like how bright it was, that the concept was put together nicely and the place felt very clean. It is also pretty nifty that the kitchen is just hanging out in the main room like a bar would be. You can saddle on up and watch the action.

I’ve been told that in the evening the place gets very busy, but we were there at 2 p.m. during a work day so it was fairly quiet. The service was very good. The waitress came fairly frequently, answered all our questions or found out the answer. She had recommendations that were helpful even if everything was “sooo good.”

Of course I was distracted and forgot about taking a picture of my food. I’m still getting used to documenting these kind of things. I mulled over getting the steak sandwich or the mac & cheese. I ended up getting the steak sandwich since I just can’t bring myself to order mac & cheese at a restaurant. I had to look up several items on the menu since I’m not familiar with so many fancy cheeses. Everyone’s dishes came promptly and the presentation was pretty nice. My steak was an actual medium rare which is a hard thing to come by these days. Though the presentation was one I’ve never seen before. The steak came on some sort of french bread, like a baguette or something, and it was all in slices covered in caramelized onions and mushrooms. I found it rather messy to eat and the bun was actually fairly hard to cut through. It tasted fairly decent and I also enjoyed the fries and Caesar salad I got with it, even though they went a little thick on the dressing.

We also got appies! As it was happy hour we got honey wings and baked brie. I’m not the biggest fan of brie, but it tasted nice. The wings were quite good, they had a bit of a kick toIMG_20161201_112655.jpg them even though they were honey. They were also super, ridiculously crispy. This also spurred the question, wings or drum sticks? I’m a wing lady myself, easier to eat! To drink I had the house white wine. It was fairly good, though I prefer something a bit more sweet. I was so stuffed by the end that I didn’t dare have any dessert, but my coworkers Death by Chocolate, Creme Brulee and doughnut with ice cream looked fantastic. I wanted to sample, but I was so full I just went home and spent the next 2 hours sighing on the couch. This place does get a 10/10 with the after meal mints. I just love these chocolate mint squares. You get a picture of them because most of my coworkers gave theirs to me.

Overall I had a good experience at Starbelly and I wouldn’t tell people not to go there. I don’t think I’ll be rushing back as it’s more on the expensive side and while the food was good I wasn’t blown away either.

Leave a Reply

