Play – Thomas Was Alone

Thomas Was Alone

This Christmas vacation I played the indie puzzle platformer Thomas Was Alone created by Mike Bithell. I had heard of this game from a podcast I listen to called The Patch and they do a game club time thing.

It’s very simple. There are many different rectangles that have different characteristics to them, such has how high they can jump and such. Using them you complete different levels. Nothing was particularly hard, it was more just challenging enough.

I think the real charm of this game comes from the narration and the personality they seem to bestow on these basic shapes. They are apparently AIs that have gone a bit rogue and have to watch out for the ominous pixel cloud.

I don’t want to give away too much as just playing through this simple game was a lot of fun and exploring the story was fantastic.

It was $2.75 on Steam when I bought it and it took me about 4 hours to complete. I’d say give it a go, I mean at that price you really can’t afford not to.

Leave a Reply

