Watch – Assassin’s Creed

Assassin's Creed Movie Review

I’m a pretty big fan of the Assassin’s Creed series of video games so when I heard that they were making a movie with Michael Fassbender I instantly messaged my sister – who is also a fan – and informed her we were going.

Now I also kept my expectations at a minimum because well let’s be honest, video game movies haven’t exactly been known for their stellar stories. I did enjoy the Prince of Persia movie, which is another Ubisoft property and what got me into their games to begin with. It wasn’t a spectacular movie, but pretty entertaining. Which I would say is what the Assassin’s Creed movie was as well – sometimes. I did find myself being super impatient with the present time story line and just wanted to get back to 1492 Spain and the action.

The thing I didn’t like about this movie is that it felt like two movies, cut in half and then stuck together. I would have probably been super happy just to watch the Spain part. The present day part of the movie was certainly lacking. I wanted more development between him and the other Assassin’s and more exploration of their current situation. The ending definitely left something to be desired and pretty much left me with a “meh” feeling.

If I had to compare I’d say Prince of Persia was better and I even liked the Warcraft movie more as well. Overall though I enjoyed all the parkour like combat and the history bit. That’s one thing I really like about the Assassin’s Creed franchise is the pulling from history bit. I’ll see pictures of places that exist in real like and think, “I’ve climbed to the top of that building!” I like their use of real people or events and how they leave it pretty gritty. Like yes, they did burn people at the stake or use the guillotine on their political opponents.

When I talk about movies I like to rate it based on how you should view it. I’d say this movie is a wait for it on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

