Play – Overcooked

Overcooked Game

My boyfriend and I love playing games together and we really like to play games that have us play roles and work together to achieve something. We got onto this kick after playing a coop heavy game called Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime. You and your partner work together to operate your space ship through dangerous territory and do the usually saving of the world. You each have to run around controlling various functions of your ship to make it through. It requires lots of communication and coordination. We LOVED IT! Unfortunately there are not tons and tons of games with this sort of game play and I’m always keeping an eye out for them. Then there came Overcooked by Ghost Town Games.

So I found this game through watching Achievement Hunter do Let’s Plays through it. It looked like a lot of fun and I realized it was just what I was looking for.  It’s a restaurant cooking simulation where players work cooperatively to put out orders while avoiding increasingly dangerous hazards – including their own mismanagement.

I pitched it to the boyfriend, he didn’t really look and assumed it was like Burger Time, but after some explaining and coercion I got him to try it with me. 5 hours later and we were both loving it. Games like this really make me happy, because it shows how well we work as a team. I may be a little over communicative, but we never get angry or anything and we feel great completing it. We like it so much we had to three star every level.

The story is you are chefs and there is a scary spaghetti monster threatening the city. You travel back in time to brush up on your cooking and serving skills. The levels get increasingly hazardous with ice flows, gaps, moving platforms, etc. Then there are also increasing levels of difficulty of food.

I got the game on a steam sale for 12.71 and it was definitely work it. I think we completed the main game and the Christmas expansion in about 7ish hours. The only thing I didn’t like about this game is that there isn’t more of it. I also really liked that it was controller compatible. We had a blast and I can’t wait to find another coop game for us to play.

Leave a Reply

