Watch – Academy Awards Party

My family watches the Oscars together every year and we guess who is gonna win. This year everyone put $10 to be in the pool. I’m really really fatigued with Trump talk and I figured it would be plastered with it so I wasn’t exactly looking forward to it, but it was a fun night.

Was it political, yes, but it was done in a way that I didn’t feel like I was being preached to by protesters or anything. Jimmy Kimmel – I’m not the biggest fan – actually did a great job. Probably my favourite thing is his on going gag of hating Matt Damon. When Matt got on the stage to present and they started playing over him with the music it had us all laughing.

I can’t tell you much about who won, why, or who should of won because I just haven’t seen anything! This year had to be the worst for me actually seeing anything on that list.
I saw Zootopia, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Rogue One, The Jungle Book and a little bit of Suicide Squad. Don’t get me wrong I want to see more – especially after everyone talking about them, I just didn’t get around to it! I really want to watch Arrival, but none of the other Best Picture nominees really jump out at me. More like I’ll eventually get around to watching them. Out of all the rest I’m more likely to watch Moana, Captain Fantastic and The Lobster – because my brother said they were weird –  Doctor Strange and Passengers. I always think when the ballot comes out that I’m going to put the time in and watch these things and it never happens.
IMG_20170226_222358.jpg
I did do alright on the pool though. I got I think 10, which is decent for not knowing anything. There was actually a 3 way tie for first with 14, wait no, the best picture thing happened so 13 right between my brother, sister and sister-in-law so they had to split the pot. Now the highlight of the night was not the Best Picture screw up, for me it was my boyfriend getting only 2 right. Which has to be a new record for how bad someone has done. We introduced awards this year and he got the best one!

Leave a Reply

