Eat – The Calzone Zone

One weekend I went over to my sisters and she made me a calzone, complete with homemade dough. I liked it enough that I asked for the recipe.

This makes 2 decently sized calzones:

1 3/4 cup flour (263g)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp sugar
1 tbsp olive oil
150 mL warm water (~25-30 C)
1 tbsp yeast
1. Mix water and yeast together.  Stir and let it sit for 5 min.
2. Combine flour, salt, sugar.
3. Add Olive oil to flour.
4. Pour water/yeast into flour mix.  Mix together till dough is smooth.  If dough is still sticky (on fingers) then add more flour.
5. Grease bowl and place dough inside.  Cover with towel or saran wrap.  Place in oven (or confined space) for 1 hr to let it rise.  Dough should double in size.
400 for 20-25 minutes
So that’s to make the dough, it doesn’t look like much but it’s enough. I always end up with too much flour with this, or I’m not mixing it right. Either way I’m probably going to cut down on the dough by around 1/4 cup. I can always add more if it’s sticky.
But how do you make the calzone??? Well my sister also sent me an instructional video and it was the best cooking video I’ve ever watched. I just love listening to this guy. He’s so excited and happy about it! I brushed ours olive oil and Parmesan instead of the egg wash.
For my own calzone I put tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese, pepperoni and deer meat. We put a layer of cheese in-between the other ingredients because cheese is the best and it help to glue everything together. Dan puts, mushrooms, mozza, deer meat, bell pepper (prefers green) and tomato sauce. I think in the future since Dan likes everything super sized I won’t split the dough 1/2 and 1/2 more like 1/3 – 2/3, because his was bursting at the seams.

The first time we did this we did it in the oven, but it’s so hot in our apartment last night we tried in the BBQ. I think it would have been fine, but we were not watching closely enough and ended up burning the bottom of them!  We’ll probably end up doing them for the third time soon enough since we still have left over fillings sitting around.

Leave a Reply

